One Year Further On

To a child, a year feels like a long time. After all, it may be 5 or 10 percent of all the time they’ve been alive.

Here at 50+ (I’m not sayin’ how much +), one year doesn’t feel quite as daunting any more.

One year ago, this past week, I started riding regularly again. I’d had a few false starts before, but really this was the first consistent riding I’d done since College. That first week, as I still clearly recall, I rode 4 times, just under 52 miles, and my legs felt like I’d done 500. They didn’t stop hurting for a couple of months. My average speed for the ‘long’ ride (21.4 miles) was 11.5 mph.

Flash forward for a year, and my ‘long’ ride feels like a short ride, I’ve covered 4700 miles in almost 200 trips, and made huge gains in fitness and confidence on the bike. Even better, I’ve made new friends and re-established existing friendships through riding.

What will the next year bring? I’m really not sure. I know I’ll keep riding – my bucket list is calling my name. And I still have people who’ve said ‘we should go for a ride’ that I haven’t had a chance to ride with yet.

Life is good.

Categories: Biking | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

'Til The Not-Fat-Lady Sings

Random Ramblings From A Long And VERY Winding Road Toward Health

Fat Cyclist

It's like reality TV. Except it's real. And there's no TV.

barbaricyalp

America: 12,000 miles & 45 days

