Now is the Month of Maying

This has been a busy month. Riding Buddy Rich (hereafter RbR) and I have been riding with the Western Wheelers long distance training riding group. So far we’ve done Mt. Diablo and Mt. Tamalpais, with Mt. Hamiltonplanned for Memorial Day. On top of that, I’ll be adding in 50+ solo miles on Memorial day to round out the Century ride as my part of the 100 Miles of Nowhere fund raiser.

Mt. Diablo: pretty ‘epic’ ride, as in epically hot – temperatures up to 104 degrees with some feeding and watering mismanagement made this a rather painful experience. The climb came early and went ok, it was the bonus loop after the climb that really put me in the pain zone. Then I managed to miss a turn and added on a few miles at the end that I really didn’t want to add on.

Mt. Tam: just a wonderful ride. Better food and water management plus a drop of about 20 degrees in average temperature made for a great day. The views from the top were magnificent – I don’t think I’ve seen a clearer day in the area in years.

100 Miles of Nowhere: Elden Nelson (fatcyclist.com) sponsors this rather unique event – Limited to 500 entrants, its a fund raiser for Camp Kesem, which is a summer camp for kids who have or have had a parent fighting cancer. Rather than ride at some one location, everyone picks their own location and rides their own ride. I’ll be riding on Memorial day in the Men’s over 50, Hybrid, Still a Clyde, Early Bird, including a Mt. Hamilton Climb division – I expect to place first (as I should be the only entrant). I’ll post a report and pictures of the aftermath.

 

Categories: Biking | Tags: , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

'Til The Not-Fat-Lady Sings

Random Ramblings From A Long And VERY Winding Road Toward Health

Fat Cyclist

It's like reality TV. Except it's real. And there's no TV.

barbaricyalp

America: 12,000 miles & 45 days

